Best Mom

I love my mom. I love my grandmother, though it was she who raised me. And both did fine jobs in making sure to get to where I am today. I owe them a lot and they both made monumental sacrifices in their own choices in life only to ensure my well-being.  Just thinking about them pushes me forward and always do better. We’re all the best of friends and we each seek out each other’s counsel in this long, wayfaring called life.

Both are my Sarah Conners and Ellen Ripleys. They would have killed to defend their children, and they both are badass women in my lives. My wife is a recent addition to that, and we’re all looking forward to the day she becomes a mother, and me, a father.

However! However, I’d have to point out that the best mom, ever, should, fall under the shoulders of Ellen Ripley in “Alien: Resurrection.”

Spoilers for the films.

In the climax of the film we are introduced with the Newborn xenomorph that has embraced Ellen Ripley as its mother. And what did she do? She flushed it down to space in probably the most macabre and graphic thing I’ve seen on the screen.

Congratulations Ripley, besides the awesome catchphrase, “Get away from her, you bitch!” in “Aliens” before engaging in epic mecha combat, you launching your kid to space at such a young age, gives you that top-spot.

To everyone: Happy Mother’s Day and cherish every moment with your mother, grandmother, or any woman who has become a mother-figure to you or anyone you cared about.

For now, I’ll just leave this pretty neat scene from “Alien: Resurrection.”

Leave a Reply

