Alice Isn’t Dead

Alice. Alice. Alice.

I love that name. For a few weeks, after meeting, I used to call my then-wife Alice, even though her name was far from it. On my phone book I used to call her Alice too, only because it was practical, it would be on the top most on my contacts list.

I love the name so much I have a developing story with “Alice” as the main character, with a tentative title, “Scissors for Alice.” It’s just such a gorgeous name. Plus, one of my favorite fast-rising YouTubers is named Alyce Rocha. And then there’s the author of “Alice in Wonderland,” Lewis Caroll, who happens to be the basis of “Jon Karoll.” The name is hot, it rolls well in the tongue, and it sounds amazing. Period.

Over the New Year on a road trip with the family, I thought it would be the best time to catch up with my favorite podcast, “Welcome to Night Vale.” Then I stumbled on another creation by Joseph Fink, the co-creator of Night Vale, called “Alice Isn’t Dead.”

Through the entire trip back and forth, I listened to all ten episodes of the show. And it was one of the best things I have experience, re-invigorating a spirit of storytelling.It was a blast. I think my favorite thus far is episode four, “The Factory by the Sea.”

This has the makings of an excellent TV series, or even a feature film. It is creepier than Night Vale, eliminating humor and weird, for something that pricks the skin. Part One is over. Part Two, they said, will happen, and I can’t wait for it.

Looks like 2017 is off to a great start.

Leave a Reply

