Uuuuugggghhh…

rocketannoyed

Rocket Racoon from Marvel’s “Guardians of the Galaxy.”

Procrastination, is a dear, ugly friend of mine.

In the latter half of 2011 while everyone was applying the final touches to their theses, my partner and I were just getting started. We had everything we needed: journals, interviews, the so-so stuff, but we were just about to start writing it.

I don’t know what the hell had happened. I distinctly remember working on it but the end result wasn’t good. So, we had exactly 32 hours to finish it. We did. We nailed it. Over 300-pointless pages, out of a 50-page maximum requirement. Our thesis professor was pissed. I was pissed, I wasn’t happy with how we did it, I felt our output was sewage. Students doing research on similar topics all over the country will be reading this. It’s an embarrassment. The dean loved it. Hell, I’ll take what I can get. In spite in how ugly it was, we still managed to blaze through the oral defense, leaving no loopholes, two of the three panelists were satisfied, the third needed a wee bit more convincing. Bottom line: We killed it, somehow, with utmost luck, and a lot of prayers, and sacrificial hamsters.

Oh, there are other scenarios where procrastination is barking at my heels. My NaNoWriMo entry, for one. As of this writing, November 18, 2016, I have on record in my NaNoWriMo profile, 3,492 words. Lovely. That means I have about 11-12 days to reach that 50,000-mark. I also realize that my book, “Year of the Red Whale” doesn’t need to be a 100-120,000-word monster. Based from where I am now, this book needs no more than about 50,000 words. I don’t think I can have that. This will mean adding more scenes into the story, adding characters, and tossing in side stories to fill in the gap. I’m aiming for 80,000, at the very least, without looking like a stretch. It’s even more challenging to meet that requirement when I have only one point-of-view character.

I think the best part of procrastination is having that sense of urgency that you need you finish something before time’s up. It’s like being in a MacGyver situation where you have 10-seconds to live and start getting creative to get out of that butt hole you’ve dug yourself in with a few mental bumps and bruises. It’s actually fun, sometimes, if not outright frustrating.

So, there we have it. My fond update of this month’s contest. All things considered, hopefully these next few days will help me get to the road to 50,000.

Leave a Reply

