Year of the Red Whale: NaNoWriMo

Oh snap! I just did it. I just did this thing in NaNoWriMo where I announced Project Crown! Looks like I really will be participating this year.

As of this writing, Project Crown has over than 10K words. NaNoWriMo asks writers to start writing on the first of November. I’m not in the mood to stop writing and work on yet another project (Project Hunter, most likely).

Project Crown is on the roll and I see it being completed soon. Even though that’s still about 90-110K words to go. What I’m going to do, is write as much as I can until the official start of NaNoWriMo, after which, I’ll jump to the book’s next segment, or rather, the next “Part.”

NaNoWriMo challenges writers to write 50K words between November 1 to 30. If I do that, that’s 50K new words into my novel. To participate in the spirit of the event, I won’t include any words written before November 1.

I’ve announced Project Crown in NaNoWriMo as “Year of the Red Whale.” And that is its final title. It’s a fantasy story set in the Industrialization era. A time when most of the world has been discovered, explored, and colonized. It is a time for modern medicine as new diseases are born from the empire’s strands.

It is a revenge story and will involve all sorts of crazy stuff in it. I’m very excited in how much I was able to put in it without being senseless clutter. It all worked, somehow, at least for me. I’ll have to tally what the beta-readers will have to say.

Anyhow, I suppose I’ll talk more about the book some other day, when it is undergoing rewrites and polishing. While I understand a 100-120K-word novel is no easy feat to accomplish, I’m aiming to complete this story sometime in December. But who knows, I’ve said that before about Project Ashes.

 

Leave a Reply

