Scattered brain matter

It is detestable, when all the wonderful things planned, has come crashing down in one epic explosion. All what remains after, are scattered, broken pieces, in the crater where it all happened.

2015 was a kick ass year. I got to read awesome books and saw history-smashing greatness, like “Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” and yes, I am still all psyched about it.

It’s the year when videogames of a vastly different scale were released: I’m talking about stuff like “Bloodborne,” “Witcher 3,” “Metal Gear Solid V,” and a couple more I can’t remember at the moment. This is the year I have finished “Dark Souls.”

It’s also the year when myself and two others managed to launch GameGulp – our videogame and film website. It’s making steady progress, though not the fastest in the galaxy.

2015 is also the year when I actually started reading more. Not just books, or online articles that I only liked. But everything. I visit Wired, Rolling Stone, Kill Screen, Paris Review, and sparingly spent my complimentary articles from New York Times and the New Yorker. It’s not enough, I admit. I read Vogue, once in a while. I try to read a little bit of everything as much as possible.

This is also the year when I started buying those stupid Funko vinyl figures. I don’t collect them. I just get whatever I like. Some of them were gifts, and it has that weight of collecting obsession. My favorites are the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man from “Ghostbusters” and Elizabeth from “BioShock Infinite.” She stares at me as I sit here, typing this, instead of focusing on my WIPs. She’s not wrong. I should get back at writing more serious stuff than this random, useless blabbers in my head.

There are other cool things that have happened in 2015. “Naruto” finally ending, for once – the massive surge of spoilers in Facebook and the people that had raged, was quite the popcorn treat. “Star Wars,” creator of videogame “Metal Gear” Hideo Kojima getting kicked out of Konami, “Ash vs Evil Dead,” “Daredevil,” “Jessica Jones,” and I managed to catch up on “Fargo.” Such an awesome show.

But before that: 2015 is a year of fond memories. I got to see the Pope, during his visit in the country, gone to E3 and witnessed firsthand the “Final Fantasy VII” remake announcement, and of course, the year when I proposed. The wedding is set on 2016.

Diving into my writing progress. I had to restart working on 3 stories. My previous laptop failed on me, and my backup were months’ old. “The Conductor,” my 70,000-word urban fantasy managed to retain a decent 15,000-word first draft. It’s painful to go back into writing everything again, though I feel this was for the better.

The second story, comes from the tentatively titled “Dark World” series. In three months, I managed to cough up words in there I thought I was going to die from typing fatigue. The story just clicked. Halfway through, I worked on a sort-of, spinoff – which I also managed to cough up so much words into it I started to think I was writing crap. It didn’t. At least, I think none of it were crap. There were scenes so vivid they burst from my head in wild technicolor. From there, everything expanded, and it did so without my idiotic self creating a backup.

I was a quarter finish with the first book. The spinoff got around a little over a quarter. They both would have been done by now. Restarting from scratch is difficult. I have tried and the experience was never the same. I feel some of the words, scenes, and dialogues, were inferior compared to the original first draft. So, I’m letting the stories boil a little more in my head, until that spark picks up again.

For now, I’m short of 20,000 words in completing “The Conductor,” and while at it, I’m working on a long short story. The latter will be sent to a certain contest. So, cross fingers for that.

Till then. I’ll be listening to Paramore, going to need to keep that pressure.

Leave a Reply

